Deiondra Sanders made a startling discovery on her first day in college: She picked the wrong major!



 

 

http://s2smagazine.com/sites/default/files/DeiondraSanders.jpg

 
Deiondra, daughter of former NFL star Deion Sanders, entered the hallowed halls of Bauder College in Atlanta as a fashion student this fall. It seemed like the best choice for her.
 
“Fashion is what I thought I liked the most out of everything,” Deiondra told us. “Since I had to be in school, I was like, ‘Okay, well fashion should be cool. It seems fun.’”
 
But as any college grad will tell, class is not about fun. Successful students go to class on a mission, and they dedicate themselves to their major. So when did Deiondra figure out fashion wasn’t for her?


 
“Maybe, like, the first day I started school,” she said with a laugh. When the NFL offspring saw how passionate her classmates were about all aspects of fashion (even the not-so-fun stuff), she knew she had to change direction. “I wasn’t really into that, and I wasn’t willing to pursue that,” Deiondra explained. 
 
Instead, she turned to God to find the right path for her, but her brief experience at Bauder helped too. “Growing up I really had no passion for anything else besides helping people. Being in college it really helped me grow to find myself,” Deiondra said.

 
Now, Deiondra is looking to enroll in Atlanta Christian. “I want to do psychology, also I want to minor in youth evangelism,” she revealed.
 
And she’s got some lofty goals for her career, as she aims to help as many troubled kids as possible.
 
“I actually would like to open up a group home for teenagers, but I would like to start off with one for [abandoned girls],” Deiondra said. “Then I want to open up a chain.” The different houses would serve specific groups of youth.

 

 

-- Sonya Eskridge

Retour à l'accueil